BOUNCE BACK by DR BRIDGETTE JENKINS BOOK REVIEW

Write Now Literary is pleased to be coordinating a Blog Tour for Bounce Back: Tips for Overcoming Adversity, Life Challenges and Setbacks by Dr. Bridgette Jenkins. The tour will run June 4-29, 2018.

 

Publication Date: May 19, 2018

Genre: Inspirational Non-Fiction

 

 

Bounce Back will encourage you to be intentional about facing adversity and challenges while staying positive about your situation. With practicality, wisdom and experience, Dr. Bridgette Jenkins shares strategies and tips that can be used to help you Bounce Back from any negative life situation. After reading this book, and applying the practical Bounce Back tips, you will be able to withstand, recover from and overcome any challenge you might face in life.

Amazon eBook

Amazon Paperback

Barnes & Noble

 

 Disclaimer: I received a copy of BOUNCE BACK by Dr. Bridgette Jenkins, DNP, MSN, RN for the purpose of an honest review. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own. Many thanks to Write Now Literary Book Tours and Divine Purpose Publishing for the advanced digital copy.

BOUNCE BACK by Dr. Bridgette Jenkins is a book filled with practical, biblical advice on how to overcome many of the adversities that may be experienced in life!

Dr. Jenkins has a very practical style and addresses her own life challenges helped me feel comfortable from the beginning of the book. Knowing that she has experience, not just book knowledge, gives me a great deal of ease in looking at the advice Dr. Jenkins was offering. Her obvious knowledge of the Bible made the combination of advice and scripture especially beneficial for me!

In addition, Dr. Jenkins added a declaration at the end of the chapter that captures the essence of all that has been written. These declarations are useful pieces that can be used to heal the heart, mind, and body whenever the evil one begins to whisper in your mind and you forget the healing words Dr. Jenkins offers!

I am definitely recommending BOUNCE BACK by Dr. Bridgette Jenkins as a useful book for those facing life challenges!

BOUNCE BACK by Dr. Bridgette Jenkins, DNP, MSN, RN receives five cups of Reviews by Room With Books coffee!

©June 17, 2018

 

Dr. Bridgette Jenkins is a doctorly prepared registered nurse who specializes in education and community health. She has a heart for nursing students and those struggling to reach their education and career goals. She serves as mentor and coach to nurses and nursing students as they matriculate through the nursing profession.

She is the owner of Health Education Institute where she teaches lifesaving courses to healthcare providers and the public. She also offers a variety of courses to healthcare providers to help them stay current on updates and changes within the healthcare arena. Dr. Bridgette also speaks at churches and community events on various health issues that are prevalent among vulnerable populations.

She is the CEO/President of the Houston Chapter of Black Nurses Rock, a nonprofit organization committed to changing the lives of the citizens in the Houston area and surrounding communities through service and education.

Bridgette resides in Houston Texas where she’s actively involved in her church and community. She is a mother to three adult children and a miniature schnauzer named Dallas. She is also MiMi to two adorable grandsons.

Website

 

 

Are you a blogger? Sign up here to host our tours

Authors do you need help promoting your book? Click here

 

 

 

 

 

LIFE LIVED NOT LOST by CYNTHIA STATON BOOK REVIEW

 

Victoria Taylor Staton’s life was a… Life Lived Not Lost ~ a journey of hope.

Cynthia Staton’s life was in turmoil, then Christ saved her. Life was perfect. She and her beloved daughter, Victoria shared the same belief in God. But seven short months after Cynthia was saved, her daughter lost her battle with Cystic Fibrosis, and God called her home.

Cynthia struggled with not only missing her daughter, but losing her bible teacher. Victoria taught the Word of God to Cynthia in a way that showcased God’s perfect love for His children. That profound understanding carried Cynthia through the devastation, knowing she’d see her daughter again one day, in Heaven, and that Victoria’s time on Earth was a….
Life Lived Not Lost ~ A journey of hope.


~ Universal Amazon Link ~
~ Good reads ~


~ Website ~ Twitter ~
~ Goodreads ~ Amazon ~
~ Bookbub ~
~ Facebook Group & Facebook Page ~

My review of Life Lived Not Lost is coming soon!

 

To view our blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our Official Event page

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

DOG HEALTH CARE by RACHELE BAKER, DVM BOOK REVIEW @RacheleBakerDVM

 

 

The must-have book for dog owners written by an experienced veterinarian and dog lover.

You may be able to help your dog avoid developing medical problems like skin infections, ear infections, and more, by following the simple preventative care recommendations that Dr. Baker discusses in this book.  Preventative care is much less expensive than paying for veterinarian exams, diagnostics, and treatments for your dog when your dog develops medical problems.

Dr. Baker answers some of the most asked questions from dog owners. Is it normal for dogs to have bad breath? What vaccines does your dog really need? Does it really matter what food you feed your dog? In this book, Dr. Rachele Baker shares the knowledge that she has acquired during more than sixteen years as a practicing veterinarian. Even people who have had dogs for years will be sure to learn something new in this book!

Dr. Baker received her B.S. from the University of California Davis in 1997 and her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 2001. Dr. Baker wrote this book to provide dog lovers with the information they need to keep their dogs healthy in a simple, brief, yet comprehensive, manner.

 Praise for this book

“Loved it from start to finish. Informative, creative, and intelligent.” – Denise, Goodreads.

“Clear, comprehensive, and easy-to-read. Refreshingly well-written and covers everything one might need to know as a dog owner.” – Bella, Amazon.

~ Universal Amazon Link ~ Barnes & Noble ~

~ iTunes ~ Kobo ~

 

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of Dog Health Care: 7 Simple Ways to Keep Your Dog Healthy by Rachele Baker, DVM for the purpose of an honest review. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own. Many thanks to Loving the Book for arranging for the advanced copy.

It was my pleasure to read Dog Health Care: 7 Simple Ways to Keep Your Dog Healthy by Rachele Baker, DVM!

I found the information to be very easy to understand and well organized. It is the very essentials that must be learned by any dog owner, hopefully BEFORE they find their furever puppy!

With all the information on the market (i.e, television) about dog food, I found the chapter on nutrition to be the most beneficial information! I am, however, a very strong opponent to feeding dogs people food of any type, not just those that are known to be harmful.

Another very important chapter is the one on vaccinations. There is a lot of debate these days on the need for booster shots of vaccines given to dogs as puppies. I am so glad that Dr. Baker made clear that the booster shots are absolutely necessary to keep your dog(s) protected!

I strongly encourage all dog owners to pick up a copy of Dog Health Care: 7 Simple Ways to Keep Your Dog Healthy by Rachele Baker, DVM. Whether your furever friend is young or old, Dr. Baker has excellent advice to assist you in the care of your dog!

I give Dog Health Care: 7 Simple Ways to Keep Your Dog Healthy by Rachele Baker, DVM five juicy dog bones, umm, I mean Reviews by Room With Books cups of coffee!

©June 4, 2018

 

Excerpt

Chapter 1: The Best Nutrition For Dogs and Puppies

The six basic nutrient categories

A good quality diet for your dog will contain all the essential nutrients in the proper proportions. The six basic nutrient categories are water, carbohydrates, protein (essential amino acids), fat (essential fatty acids), minerals, and vitamins.

Water

You may be surprised to learn that water is considered the most important nutrient. Water is vital to life. Water is one of the largest constituents of an animal’s body and can vary from forty percent to more than eighty percent of the total.

Water provides shape to the body. It acts as a solvent in which substances are dissolved and then transported through the body. Water is necessary for the digestion of proteins, carbohydrates, and fats. Water in bodily fluids helps lubricate the joints and eyes and keeps the airways moist.

Water helps regulate body temperature as it is evaporated from the skin or from the respiratory tract during breathing. That is why you will see your dog pant when he or she gets hot. Panting helps to cool your dog down. Panting is the primary way that dogs get rid of excess body heat. When your dog pants, water and heat are evaporated from your dog’s lungs, tongue, and mouth.

It is very important, therefore, to make sure that your dog always has fresh, clean water. You should clean your dog’s water bowl with dish soap every day to remove bacteria and debris before refilling it with clean water. I do not recommend leaving your dog’s water bowl outside in a place where other animals in the area can drink from it due to the potential for contamination with bacteria and diseases from other animals.

 

Dr. Rachele Baker is a veterinarian, an author, an award-winning blogger at Rachele Baker, Veterinarian and Author, and, of course, a pet lover. She lives in the beautiful state of California. Rachele likes to try new restaurants, go to local festivals, hike the many beautiful trails around her home, and explore California wine regions.

Rachele has been working as a veterinarian in California caring for dogs and cats for seventeen years. She received her B.S. from the University of California Davis in 1997 and her Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine in 2001.

Rachele has written and published a number of interesting and helpful articles about pet health and resources for pet lovers on her website. Check it out!

~ Facebook ~ Website ~

~ BookBub ~ Twitter ~

~ Instagram ~ Pinterest ~

~ Subscribe to Monthly Newsletter ~

 

To view our blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our Official Event page

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

HOSTED BY

 

IF I WANT YOU by RACHEL BRIMBLE @rararesources @RachelBrimble

If I Want You

By Rachel Brimble

When local journalist, Tori Peterson, fails to prevent a child abduction outside her niece’s school, her horror and guilt sparks a vow to do whatever it takes to get little Abby Brady home to her parents.

While Tori battles the vile memories of her own kidnapping as a child, she accepts the help of widowed father, Mark Bolton. As he and Tori join forces with the local police, their attraction and intimacy grows…along with their fears for Abby.

Links are uncovered between Abby’s disappearance and Tori’s kidnapping, and Tori is forced to accept the monster who held her captive is back. But this time, Tori is all grown up, and there is no way she will let him hurt another little girl.

Amazon UK ~ Amazon US

Barnes & Noble ~ Google Play

 

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary digital copy of If I Want You by Rachel Brimble for the purpose of an honest review. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own.

If I Want You by Rachel Brimble is a novel that revolves around child abductions, people learning to grow through pain – past and present, and a romance that has definite sizzle! The child abductions are painful to read about, but the growth that Tori, and Mark, show throughout this book make the whole ordeal a bit easier to deal with by the end of the book!

I must admit I was totally baffled as to who the abductor would turn out to be! Ms. Brimble kept me guessing, much as Tori did, throughout the novel!

The pace was a bit slow for my liking, but I found that I wasn’t willing to walk away from If I Want You. Ms. Brimble’s writing style is very easy to read. I found the characters to be well thought out, and researched thoroughly! I was able to spot several editing issues, but they didn’t detract from my overall enjoyment of the book.

Pick up your copy of If I Want You by Rachel Brimble and I’m certain you’ll find yourself enjoying this romantic suspense novel!

Reviews by Room With Books gives If I Want You by Rachel Brimble four steaming hot cups of Room With Books coffee!

I always consider it a privilege to have the opportunity to read and review a book. Many thanks to Rachel Brimble and Rachel’s Random Resources for this opportunity!

©April 24, 2018

Rachel lives with her husband and two teenage daughters in a small town near Bath in the UK. After having several novels published by small US presses, she secured agent representation in 2011. Since 2013, she has had seven books published by Harlequin Superromance (Templeton Cove Stories) and an eighth coming in Jan 2018. She also has four Victorian romances with eKensington/Lyrical Press as well as writing several single titles for the Wild Rose Press.

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and Romance Writers of America and was selected to mentor the Superromance finalist of So You Think You Can Write 2014 contest. When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Rachel with her head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with her family. Her dream place to live is Bourton-on-the-Water in South West England.

Website ~ Blog

Twitter ~ Facebook

Facebook Street Team – Rachel’s Readers

Amazon Author Page ~ Goodreads

 

Win a PDF of any book from Rachel Brimble’s Back List (Open Internationally)

Rachel Brimble has a rather varied and extensive backlist, and one lucky winner can win a PDF of a book of their choice from it. Full back list can be viewed HERE!

*Terms and Conditions – Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days, then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, except for the winner’s information. This will be shared with the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

EMBRACING HER HEART by MELISSA FOSTER @Melissa_Foster

Embracing Her Heart

The Bradens and Montgomerys

(Pleasant Hill – Oak Falls) – Book 1

By: Melissa Foster

Releasing April 17, 2018
World Literary Press


Leaving New York City and returning to her hometown to teach a screenplay writing class seems like just the break Grace Montgomery needs. Until her sisters wake her at four thirty in the morning to watch the hottest guys in town train wild horses and she realizes that escaping her sisters’ drama-filled lives was a lot easier from hundreds of miles away. To make matters worse, she spots the one man she never wanted to see again—ruggedly handsome Reed Cross.
Reed was one of Michigan’s leading historical preservation experts, but on the heels of catching his girlfriend in bed with his business partner, his uncle suffers a heart attack. Reed cuts all ties and returns home to Oak Falls to run his uncle’s business. A chance encounter with Grace, his first love, brings back memories he’s spent years trying to escape.

Grace is bound and determined not to fall under Reed’s spell again—and Reed wants more than another taste of the woman he’s never forgotten. When a midnight party brings them together, passion ignites and old wounds are opened. Grace sets down the ground rules for the next three weeks. No touching, no kissing, and if she has it her way, no breathing, because every breath he takes steals her ability to think. But Reed has other ideas…

Link to Tour Schedule

Goodreads Link

Goodreads Series Link

 

 

➜KINDLE: http://smarturl.it/EHH_Kindle
➜iBOOKS: http://apple.co/2vDGJbO
➜KOBO: http://smarturl.it/EHH_Kobo
➜NOOK: http://smarturl.it/EHH_Nook
➜GPLAY: http://bit.ly/2gLs8IZ
➜PAPERBACK: http://smarturl.it/EHH_Pb

 

 

Melissa Foster is a New York Times & USA Today bestselling and award-winning author. She writes sexy and heartwarming contemporary romance and new adult romance with emotionally compelling characters that stay with you long after you turn the last page. Melissa’s emotional journeys are lovingly erotic and always family oriented–perfect beach reads for contemporary romance lovers who enjoy reading about wealthy heroes and smart, sassy heroines.

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

NewsletterBookBubInstagram

 

 

First Chapter

 

 

Five winners will receive a digital copy of BRETT: BAD BOYS AFTER DARK

a Rafflecopter giveaway

THE DANDELION by MICHELLE LEIGHTON BOOK REVIEW

THE DANDELION

By Michelle Leighton

Some see an ending, others see a beginning

At thirty-five, Abigail Simmons has mastered only one thing—running. When tragedy strikes, she runs. This time her urge to flee brings Abi back to her hometown, where she hopes she can find the peace she’s always searched for. That hope is dashed when Abi’s ex, Sam Forrester, bumps his way back into her life.

Sam has flourished in ways Abi hasn’t. From the outside, he has it all—a successful medical practice, a beautiful daughter, and a charming wife.

Who is dying.

Sara Forrester is dying and her final wish is for Sam to find love again so she can meet the woman who will finish raising her daughter and grow old with her husband. Abi seems like the perfect fit, but what Sara doesn’t know is that Abi has a secret, a secret no one could guess.

And it’s a deal breaker.

Kindle ~ iBooks
Nook ~ Kobo

Add to Goodreads
Sign up for M. Leighton’s Newsletter

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING

“A true must read”

“A breathtaking story”

“I just could NOT. STOP. READING.”

“The Dandelion is simply…BEAUTIFUL!!!”

“It was worth every single minute.”

“Read it. Just…read it.”

FROM MICHELLE LEIGHTON
WILL YOU TRUST ME?

I am so, so excited to tell you that THE DANDELION is live! I loved everything about this story, from the way it began as a dream to the way I cried a few times as I wrote it. This book has some of the most real and raw and wounded characters I’ve ever fallen in love with, but I think that’s why I love them so much. And I truly believe you will, too, but I want to implore you to TRUST ME. Trust me that, although there are obstacles and struggles that cut to the heart of every woman, this book is one of love and hope and friendship and selflessness of epic proportions. Trust me to bring you closure and happiness, the kind we all have to work for, but the kind that’s made all the more special because we have to work for it.

Give this book a try. Give this love a try. Give this HOPE a try:) I sincerely hope you adore the story as much as I do!

 

 

Many thanks to Michelle Leighton and Sullivan and Partners, LLC for the advance digital copy. Opinions expressed here are entirely my own.

To say that this book was extraordinary seems to trivialize the feelings that I had while reading THE DANDELION by MICHELLE LEIGHTON!

I picked THE DANDELION up one morning and I couldn’t put it down until I had come to the end. I carried my phone with me all day just in case I might have a minute to read a little bit more while I was running errands.

The story is very heartrending, and I had many moments of tears and a vast emotional investment in the entire story! I’m not a big believer in second chances, but Sara, Sam, and Abi proved me wrong!

Even knowing Abi had ulterior motives for returning to Molly’s Knob, life intervenes and changes her direction for the better!

Ms. Leighton’s writing is spectacular in THE DANDELION, possibly the best she has ever delivered!

Pick up your copy of THE DANDELION by MICHELLE LEIGHTON today and I’m certain you’ll find yourself falling in love with all the characters that make this story an award-winning novel!

Reviews by Room With Books gives THE DANDELION by MICHELLE LEIGHTON five steaming hot cups of Room With Books coffee!

©April 8, 2018

 

About M. Leighton

New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal Bestselling Author, M. Leighton, is a rarely ever comfortable speaking about herself in the third person, but here goes. Michelle is a former nurse who has always harbored a passion for the written word, a weakness for alpha males, and a profound love of all things romantic. Never in her wildest dreams did this Yankee-turned-Southerner imagine her life as it is today. She has the best job in the world, a husband who treats her like a princess, and a dog that’s so smart she may one day write a novel, too. You can often find Michelle hidden away in her cave, crafting a new story, or out in the sunshine enjoying some quiet time with her man. Movies, wine, and good food are frequently thrown into the mix, and exercise on days that start with Q. She loves laughter, chocolate, the color red, and you can find out more about her at www.mleightonbooks.com.

ABOUT MICHELLE LEIGHTON

With sales nearing the two million mark, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and internationally bestselling author M. Leighton is now turning her pen toward another side of relationships with her work as Michelle Leighton. From her upcoming emotionally charged story, The Dandelion, to her domestic noir entitled Strings, Michelle’s stories are sure to bring all the depth you’ve come to expect from M. Leighton with a new edge that will have you quickly turning page after page.
Find me online at https://www.facebook.com/MichelleLeightonAuthor/

WAIT WITH ME by AMY DAWS IT’S LIVE! @amydawsauthor

the wait is over

From Buzzfeed to Babble to Scary Mommy and even network television—the most anticipated social media viral sensation is LIVE!

The story of romance writer Amy Daws’ relationship with a little tire shop in South Dakota is a refreshingly fun tale that ends in an auto shop romantic comedy that you have to read!

Daws’ fans have loved watching this story trend, but more importantly, they are loving this 5-star read about a couple who meet outside of a tire shop…

Its LIVE-flipped

When romance novelist, Kate Smith, finds her long lost writing mojo in the customer waiting area of a tire store, the complimentary coffee isn’t the only things that’s hot. But sexy mechanic, Miles Hudson, is just up for a friendly test-drive of her new book idea.
At least, that was the agreement…

Buy
⬇︎⬇︎⬇︎
Amazon USAmazon UKAmazon CAAmazon AU

smut writer

viral sensationIt all began when Daws went to Tires Tires Tires to get a new set of wheels on her car. She was suffering from writer’s block, but apparently the complimentary coffee and cookies cured her. So she decided to bring in cars of friends and family so she could keep writing in the magical waiting room.

Her social media musings had her fans in stitches and it wasn’t long before inspiration struck again. This time…Daws was to write a sexy romantic comedy about a romance novelist who sneaks into a tire shop and gets caught by a hot mechanic. You can imagine where the love story goes from here.

Eventually, the little tire shop opened their arms to Daws, even putting her release date on their marquee sign outside.

It wasn’t long before Buzzfeed got wind of it. Then Scary Mommy. Then InspireMore and several other blogs with followers well into the millions. WGN News in Chicago, Fox 10 in Phoenix and Canada Public Radio are all talking about the adorable feel good story of how inspiration can strike in the strangest of places.

Check out these fun features:
BuzzfeedInspireMoreBabbleScary Mommy

wgn image.jpg

excerpt

She slaps her hand on her knee and bellows gallantly, “But you know what, Miles, you’re right! I should totally find a random hookup tonight.”

“Whoa, I never said anything about random.”

“Well, you’re doing it, so why can’t I?”

I narrow my eyes. “You don’t seem like the random type.”

“Maybe I should be.” Her eyes narrow when she leans in and whispers against my lips. “Can I tell you a secret, Miles?”

“You can tell me anything, Mercedes.”

She giggles and crooks her finger for me to lean in even closer. I’m so close I can smell the faint scent of her cherry lip gloss, and it’s not helping the half boner having a party in my pants.

Her lips graze my ear when she whispers, “My writing makes me horny.”

I nearly choke on my beer. “I’m sorry, what?”

“My writing makes me horny.” She pulls back and nods her confirmation. “I’m serious. I have a sex toy that works really well and really fast, but I miss the heat of a man, ya know?”

My eyes scrunch together, and I rub my fingers in the sockets to make sure I’m awake and hearing this all correctly. “I mean…I don’t really ever miss the heat of man, so I don’t think I know exactly what you’re saying.”

“Fine, the heat of a woman.” She rolls her eyes dramatically “You know what I’m talking about. The heat.”

I frown and shake my head. “You’re going to have to elaborate because I think of a lot of things when I think of women, but their body temperature isn’t one of them.”

“You asked for it.” She laughs and leans in so she’s speaking low and soft and directly into my ear. “The heat of a woman is so much more than temperature. It’s the soft, sensual curves of the female form. The way your fingers dig into the meat of her thighs when she’s wrapped around you. Her smooth, sunken tummy when she’s on her back, the delicate bumps of her ribcage when she’s throwing her head back in pleasure. Tight little nipples in pillows of creamy softness. The fact that you could fold yourself around her and envelop her body almost entirely and still want more. You’re saying you don’t miss that kind of heat?”

I blink slowly, recovering from what just happened. Her voice was a sensual, verbal caress straight on my cock. Then there was the warm heat of her breath on my ear. The deep husk of her tone. The way her warm palm rests softly on my thigh.

*** hell.

AuthorBio13254841_1712669075674776_2966283892361812453_o

Amy Daws is an Amazon Top 100 bestselling author of the Harris Brothers Series and is most known for her punny, footy-playing, British playboys. The Harris Brothers and her London Lovers Series fuel her passion for all things London. When Amy’s not writing, she’s watching Gilmore Girls or singing karaoke in the living room with her daughter while Daddy awkward-smiles from a distance.

For more of Amy’s work check out her social media links below or visit: http://www.amydawsauthor.com

Website/Newsletter: http://www.amydawsauthor.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/amydawsauthor
Facebook Fan Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/728136307274712/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/amydawsauthor
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/amydawsauthor
Book and Main: https://bookandmainbites.com/amydaws
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/amy-daws
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/amydawsauthor/
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/amydaws
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/amydawsauthor

ALL ABOUT THE #RRBC SPONSORS BLOG HOP!

Welcome to the first ever ALL ABOUT THE SPONSORS BLOG HOP! These kind members of the RAVE REVIEWS BOOK CLUB (RRBC) donated their support during the 2017 conference, in the way of gift card and Kindle e-book donations for our Gift Basket Raffle. They supported us and now we are showing our support of them by pushing their book(s).
We ask that you pick up a copy of the title listed and after reading it, leave a review. There are several books on tour today, so please visit the HOP’S main page to follow along.
Also, for every comment that you leave along this tour, including on the HOP’S main page, your name will be entered into a drawing for an Amazon gift card to be awarded at the end of the tour!
Have you wondered what goes through the mind of a patient in isolation for nine months? What keeps them going?
June is a 10 year old girl who goes on vacation with her brother and grandmother to Europe and has the time of her life. Six months after their return from vacation, a mysterious “THING” referred to as “Noma” attacks one of the travelers spiraling them out of control. June tells her story of being in a crazy and scary environment revealing unexpected powers that help in coping with loneliness. June finds unusual friends during the darkest days. Lady Bird, the dog, ole folks, Alex and G-Mom play a pivotal role during the journey through a tunnel of darkness.
This blog hop sponsored by: 4WillsPublishing

SUCH DARK THINGS by COURTNEY EVAN TATE BOOK REVIEW

SUCH DARK THINGS

By Courtney Evan Tate (Courtney Cole)

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Publisher: Mira (Harper Collins)

Release Date: March 20, 2018

I thought I knew him. He thought he knew me. We were both wrong…

Dr. Corinne Cabot is living the American dream. She’s a successful ER physician in Chicago who’s married to a handsome husband. Together they live in a charming house in the suburbs. But appearances can be deceiving—and what no one can see is Corinne’s dark past. Troubling gaps in her memory mean she recalls little about a haunting event in her life years ago that changed everything.

She remembers only being in the house the night two people were found murdered. Her father was there, too. Now her father is in prison; she hasn’t been in contact in years. Repressing that terrifying memory has caused Corinne moments of paranoia and panic. Sometimes she thinks she sees things that aren’t there, hears words that haven’t been spoken. Or have they? She fears she may be losing her mind, unable to determine what’s real and what’s not.

So when she senses her husband’s growing distance, she thinks she’s imagining things. She writes her suspicions off to fatigue, overwork, anything to explain what she can’t accept—that her life really isn’t what it seems.

Goodreads

Amazon ~ B&N

Google Play ~ Apple

Kobo

Prologue-

My skin is sticky with blood.

My waistband is wet with it, and I can taste it on my lips. It’s splattered on my face, and it tastes like metal that has been rotting in the sun and rain for a hundred years. The night makes me shiver, the cool breeze rustling my hair, and for a split second, I’m back there in that house, standing in that blood. My bare toes feel the warmth of the liquid turn cool as the minutes tick past.

Goose bumps raise on my neck, and a knot that I can’t swallow is lodged in my throat. My feet are frozen frozen frozen on the ground, and I can’t move.

Their eyes are open and lifeless, although they stare at me.

They see me.

Yet they see nothing.

I can’t breathe.

My lips are ice, just like theirs.

My heart is pounding and racing and stuttering, and I can’t breathe I can’t breathe I can’t breathe.

“Corinne. You’re safe here. Corinne.

And just like that, I’m not there.

I’m here.

“There was blood all over me.” My words are stilted and fragile, like glass.

I stare at my hand, and even though it’s clean now, I see it as it was seventeen years ago, covered in the blood of two souls…souls that were living and that aren’t anymore. It’s hard to wrap my mind around. First they were breathing, and then they weren’t. It happened in a split second. I inhale shakily.

“Think about that moment,” the doctor instructs. “Who can you see?”

I think on that. “Melanie is next to me on the floor. Her head is bleeding into a pool. There is so much blood that it looks black.” I close my eyes, because it had been the first time I’d seen blood like that, and it terrified me. “Joe is on the bed. His blood is splattered all over the wall. Both of them have their eyes open.”

Staring at me.

The emotions welling up in me are like a wave, swelling, swelling, swelling…until I can’t handle it anymore. The horror and the guilt and the pain are just too much.

“I can’t do this,” I blurt out. “I’m done for the day.”

Dr. Phillips looks at me, and he’s calm and detached.

“Corinne, why are you here?”

I pause. What a stupid question. “You know why I’m here.”

I hate it when they treat me with such condescension.

“Humor me,” he tells me. “Why are you here?”

I grit my teeth and look away.

He waits.

“You’re saying that I tried to hurt myself. But I wouldn’t do that.”

I look at him now, and he’s so f*cking emotionless. I look down at my left wrist, at the bandage covering up the stiches.

“I wouldn’t,” I insist again. “I’m a f*cking physician. I wouldn’t have cut my wrist horizontally. If I really wanted to hurt myself, I would’ve known to cut vertically along the vein.”

I finger the gauze. Beneath it, the cut throbs, evidence of something I don’t remember doing.

“I’m not crazy,” I add. And I don’t know if I’m trying to convince Dr. Phillips, or myself.

“You’re not crazy.” He nods. “But you’ve experienced a mental break. You’re here because you need to deal with the causal underlying issue so that it won’t happen again. Right?”

He’s a fucking asshole.

I stare at the wall. At the whiteness, at the sterility.

“You need some plants in here,” I tell him, avoiding the question. “Greenery puts patients at ease. All this blankness…it’s maddening.”

“I’ll keep that in mind,” he says wryly. “Corinne…”

I interrupt. “Dr. Cabot,” I tell him. “I’ve earned it.”

“Dr. Cabot,” he corrects himself. “You’re right. You’ve earned it. You worked a long time to finish medical school and your residency. You’re a top ER physician. You have a life envied by everyone around you. You’ve got to take care of yourself, so you can protect this life you’ve built.”

I close my eyes. Behind my eyelids, it’s dark and safe. It’s black and warm.

“Protect it from what?” I whisper.

“You tell me,” he answers. “You’ve got something inside of you that is triggered now, something that creates panic and a fight-or-flight response. We know what your father did so long ago. What we don’t know is why…or what damage it has caused in you, damage that seems to be affecting you now.”

“I don’t know either,” I say helplessly, my eyes opening to the white walls again. “I can’t remember. I never could. You know that.”

“I know.” Dr. Phillips nods again, and he tries to be so fucking comforting. “You have a history of dissociative behavior. You blocked out what your father did so long ago, and it stands to reason that your brain has developed that as a defense mechanism. It’s doing it again now. If we don’t get to the bottom of why your memories are being triggered now, after all of these years…you’ll never have peace. Do we agree on that?”

Reluctantly, I nod.

“So we have to start at the beginning. You have to stay here and focus.”

Anger flares in me, red and hot, and I stare him down. He doesn’t blink and neither do I.

“Focus?” I ask him, and my words are sharp and I wish they would cut him. “You think it’s as simple as sitting down and focusing? How dare you sit there and tell me what to do, when you have no idea what it’s like?”

I stand up to leave, but the psychiatrist’s next sentence holds me in my place, freezing me.

“Corinne, you promised Jude you’d try.”

Jude.

My beautiful, understanding Jude.

I swallow hard. I did promise. And I have to follow through, even though the pain it causes me is immeasurable. I owe it to him. I’ll do it for him. Not for this psychiatrist, but for Jude.

My body folds back into the seat, and I finger the medical bracelet circling my right wrist. Corinne Elizabeth Cabot, Female. It’s me, condensed into one stark sentence, yet I’m a stranger to myself right now. That’s why I’m here. I don’t know myself or my thoughts. My memories are foreign, blocked, nightmarish, out of control.

“Fine.” There’s nothing else I can say.

Dr. Phillips is quietly triumphant. “Let’s begin again. Take a deep breath and close your eyes.”

I do, drawing the cool air in a rush over my teeth, expanding my lungs and holding it, before I let it slowly exhale. I do it again, then again.

“Think back to that night, Dr. Cabot. Stand in that room. Tell me where your father is.”

I envision it, I see it in my mind like it was yesterday. My father in his bloody steel-toed boots. “He’s on the porch, waiting for the police to come.”

“He left you alone in the house with two dead bodies?”

“Yes.”

“He didn’t try to run?”

“No.”

“Okay. What did you do then?” my doctor asks me calmly, unfazed by the ugliness of my story.

“I was stunned. I think I was in shock. My hand was bleeding.”

Dr. Phillips looks at my hand, because I’m stroking the scar now, an unconscious nervous tic that I often do when I’m anxious. “What happened to your hand?”

“I don’t remember.”

“Is there a lot that you don’t remember from that night?”

“Yes. You know that.”

“Yes, I do,” he acknowledges. “So you’re standing in the middle of a bloody crime scene because your father left you alone. What did you do then, Corinne?”

“I looked out the window,” I tell him. “I was frozen. I couldn’t move. My feet felt like concrete and I was afraid if I moved, my heart would explode. So I took deep breaths. I watched the trick-or-treaters walking by. I looked at the blood on my shoe. I looked at the jack-o’-lanterns that were lit on porches, and the ghosts hanging in the trees. There was a full moon. There was light on my shoulders.”

“Anything else?”

“I stared at the street sign on the corner. All Hallows Lane.”

“That’s ironic,” the doctor points out needlessly.

“Yes.”

“How long did you stand there?” His question is quiet.

“Until they came and took me away.”

Many thanks to Courtney Evan Tate and Netgalley for the Advance Digital copy of Such Dark Things. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.

Jude and Corinne seemingly have it all. But something sinister is brewing beneath the surface of their picture-perfect life. Corinne carries the baggage of something horrific from her eighteenth year that has haunted her ever since. But she doesn’t remember the details of what happened.

Coming to terms with the past and building a strong future isn’t in the cards for Jude and Corinne with the interference they face from outside forces.

Such Dark Things by Courtney Evan Tate is an exceptionally intense read. This is a book that, once I started reading, my entire world faded far into the background and I couldn’t put it down!

Ms. Tate has a flair for the dramatic and knows how to write a psychological thriller! There was no easing into the plot, it soared off the first page and never descended! I was hard-pressed to catch my breath between each page!

Tackling the subject of PTSD and Dissociative Disorder, which are often found in people who have experienced a life-altering trauma, is a vast undertaking. Ms. Tatee handled it expertly.

 

I highly recommend you pick up a copy of Such Dark Things by Courtney Evan Tate to find out IF their life is really what it seems!

Reviews by Room With Books gives Such Dark Things by Courtney Evan Tate five steaming hot cups of Room With Books coffee!

©March 18, 2018

 

Courtney Cole

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author

Want a FREE book, exclusive super-fan prizes and contests, and general merriment? Sign up for my newsletter!

Want to learn all of my secrets? Check out my Website

Want to hear the lies I tell my husband to hide my shopping trips? Follow me on Twitter!

Want to see frequent pictures of smokin’ hot men and hilarious cat memes? Friend me on Facebook!

PRE-MEDITATED MURDER by TRACY WEBER BOOK REVIEW @TracyWeberTypes

 

 

 

If Kate Doesn’t Act Fast, the Only “I Do” in Michael’s Future Will Be at His Trial

 

 

Yoga instructor Kate Davidson is ready to marry her boyfriend Michael, so she’s disappointed when a special dinner doesn’t end with a proposal. But disappointment turns to dismay and outrage as she learns the real problem: Michael is already married and his estranged wife is blackmailing him.

When his wife’s body is found―by Kate and her dog, no less―Michael is strangely unable to remember where he was the night she died. Since Michael has no alibi, Kate steps up to uncover what happened. What she walks into is a tangled web of deceit, obsession, and immigration fraud . . . with Michael trapped in the middle.

 

~ Amazon ~ Goodreads ~ Amazon UK ~

~ Amazon Canada ~ Amazon Australia ~

 

 

 

 

Tracy Weber is the author of the award-winning Downward Dog Mysteries series featuring yoga teacher Kate Davidson and her feisty German shepherd, Bella.

Her first book, Murder Strikes a Pose won the Maxwell Award for Fiction and was 2015 Agatha Award nominee for Best First Novel. The third book in her series, Karma’s a Killer, will released January 2016 by Midnight Ink.

Tracy and her husband live in Seattle with their challenging yet amazing German shepherd Tasha. When she’s not writing, Tracy spends her time teaching yoga, walking Tasha, and sipping Blackthorn cider at her favorite ale house.

Connect with the Author here

~ Facebook ~ Website ~ Twitter ~

 

Subscribe to my newsletter and be entered to win a Downward Dog Mysteries coffee mug! http://tracyweberauthor.com/newsletter.html

 

 

Many thanks to Tracy Weber & Loving the Book for the Advanced Digital Copy of Pre-Meditated Murder (A Downward Dog Mystery). Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.

This is the fifth book in the Downward Dog Mystery Series. I haven’t yet had the pleasure of reading the four preceding books, but I had no problem following Pre-Meditated Murder without the background information they would have provided!

Pre-Meditated Murder by Tracy Weber is filled with plenty of action, mystery, murder, mayhem, and fun! This wonderfully written cozy mystery has something for just about everyone!

It looks like a bright future is in the cards for Kate and Michael! Kate’s best friend, Rene, has seen Michael exiting a jewelry store! A special birthday dinner for Kate and a … necklace? More than disappointed, Kate is heartbroken and angry! This leads to Michael’s confession of a whopping secret! Michael’s married and his wife, Gabrielle, wants $50,000 to give him a divorce! It all goes downhill from there!

Ms. Weber writes a marvelously plotted cozy mystery with strong characters and a wonderful plot! But best of all, she mixes in an anxiety ridden German Shepherd named Bella! At times Bella absolutely steals the entire show! Granted there are also twin babies of three months, a polydactyl kitten, and two terribly trained puppies, but you have to love Bella!

I couldn’t have enjoyed Pre-Meditated Murder more unless I had read all of the Downward Dog Mystery Series.

I highly recommend you run out and buy it, and the four previous books if you haven’t read them already! I give Pre-Meditated Murder (A Downward Dog Mystery) by Tracy Weber five steaming hot cups of Reviews by Room With Books coffee!

©March 7, 2018

Patricia, Reviews by Room With Books

 

 

To view our blog schedule and follow along with this tour visit our Official Event page

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Hosted by: